TO WEAVE OR NOT TO WEAVE….

Standard

Good Day, let me just start this blog of by saying

“I am not my hair
I am not this skin
I am not your expectations no no
I am not my hair
I am not this skin
I am a soul that lives within” INDIA.ARIE

True story, today while out sourcing inventory for the Winter  season ahead I had four random folk comment on my hair

1st RANDOM on Good Hope Road, SE: “Hey lady, want you do something with all that hair like comb it. Is that all your own hair?”

RESPONSE:WOW, right of course my response being sassy and cynical as I am was ” I am doing something with it, I am wearing it.  You know like your wearing your hair on your head.  Is yours real, brother?”

You had to see his face drop with shame. However, I notice a growing response to me with my random hairstyles. Why??? I never ask, It is unimportant to me what one thinks or feels about my bald, long, medium length, natural, blonde, red or pink hair unless I am blocking your view at a ceremony, maybe depending on if it’s standing room only. It just really depends on the individuals approach to remedy the obstruction of the HAIR.

I mean really….

2nd RANDOM on CIRCULATOR, DC:  Hey beautiful you rockin’ that hair. It fit’s you.

RESPONSE: Thanks.

Notice he didn’t care whether it was mine or not. He just felt the need to compliment me  on what he liked.

Coolbeans. Compliment accepted!

3rd RANDOM at Anacostia Metro Station: A lady walks around to the front of me as I sit on the platform seat awaiting my train she says, ” I just had to walk around and see who was the face behind the hair. You are working the look girlfriend and I’m glad you are cute, too. If you weren’t right, I would tell you!

DAMN….but candor is OK in my book as long as it’s not malicious.

RESPONSE: As she startled me a bit, “Thank you and what if I wasn’t cute” and then I just sat there smiling.

I guess this Chaka Khan, Tina Turner AKA Craze Chameleon Aisha Keys hair is a “HIT”, huh.

What you think??? WINNING

4th RANDOM walking down the street: A passer buyer yells out the window ” Great hair. You need a ride?…well you still look good!

RESPONSE: I just smiled and continued my journey.

As most of you know hair and fashion go hand in hand. I never really have a clue what will be next with my daily LIFE none the less my hairstyles. So moving along “don’t sweat the small stuff”. If it feels right go with it, “TO WEAVE OR NOT TO WEAVE, that is the question?”

As I always say,  go with your what your feeling…In my world I am the OPENING ACT, the HEADLINER and the AFTER PARTY…IDLEWILD.  

Good people at the end of the day make sure to make self happy, first and always. Can one help it if you’re an anomaly?

 

VFJ,

Aisha Keys

Craze Chameleon Studio, LLC

DC/NYC/MI

www.vintagefashionjunkie.wordpress.com

www.facebook.com/aishakeys

www.facebook.com/crazechameleonstudiollc

www.myspace.com/crazechameleon

www.modelmayhem.com/crazechameleon

www.twitter.com/crazechameleon

202-460-4552

About crazechameleonstudio

Craze Chameleon Studio established in 1999 by founder Aisha Keys, a native Washingtonian, is one of the must vintage clothing collections in D.C. At the age of 23, her distinct fashion style turned the heads of many people on the streets of D.C., thus propelling her into a career as a personal shopper and fashion stylist to aspiring models, vocalists, musicians, and local fashionistas. Because of her ability to change her look from day to day, she was nicknamed the Chameleon; thus creating Craze Chameleon Studio. A studio of vintage clothes from the 20’s – 60’s. At the Studio, Aisha creates masterpieces utilizing her creative eye and vintage pieces. “…through my original style and vintage apparel, I show people how to put it all together and create their own unique fashion statement.” Aisha Keys. Craze Chameleon Studio has carved out its own niche among vintage retailers by providing up to the minute fashion that looks as if it is off the runway today, but is an original garment from fashion past. Since opening in 1999, CCS has been one of D.C.’s vintage clothing resource and one of the most celebrated vintage destinations in the D.C. area; supplying clothes to many retailers in the metropolitan area like Kaur, Nana, Meeps, Crossroads, Buffalo Exchange, Reddz Trading and Mustard Seed. CCS has an incredible array of vintage clothing from cocktail dresses, furs, suits, designer garments, accessories for men and women, and household collectibles and furnishings. There is an exclusive collection of used and dead stock items at the studio. To make an appointment call 2022008892 or email crazechameleonstudio@gmail.com

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: Quote of the day! | dawnsdorkydisneydiary

Leave a Reply

